Lock Smith – Settle Down Na E.P (Incl. Dave Aju & Auk Remixes) [Thoughtless Music]

Lock Smith – Settle Down Na E.P (Incl. Dave Aju & Auk Remixes) [Thoughtless Music]

Lock Smith – Settle Down Na E.P (Incl. Dave Aju & Auk Remixes) [Thoughtless Music]

by August 5, 2014

Noah Pred’s Thoughtless Music imprint returns this August with a five-track package from Lock Smith, entitled ‘Settle Down Na’ and featuring remixes from Dave Aju, and recent Thoughtless signing Auk.

Lock Smith aka Marc Smith, better known as one half of the Mobilee Records duo Safeword, offers up his first solo venture here via Thoughtless Music. Smith’s style across the release, much like his offerings as Safeword, embraces a warm analogue sound and blossoming dynamic throughout, making it a perfect fit for the Thoughtless imprint. Following recent material from Arthur Oskan, Stone Owl and Auk.

The original mix of title track ‘Settle Down Na’ kicks off the release, an intricately melodic composition fuelled by swirling, reversed synth sounds, loose, stripped-back percussive elements and a meandering sub bass hook, resulting in a jazz-inflected electronica cut exuding elegance and personality.

Circus Company’s Dave Aju reshapes ‘Settle Down Na’ next, merging insistent organic percussion and throbbing sub-bass sounds to create an ever-blooming interpretation, which bubbles away with intensity throughout its near nine-minute duration. Canadian duo Auk turn in a remix of the title cut next following their recent debut, ‘Absolution’ on Thoughtless, the pair tip the focus over to deep and dubby sounds here impressively executed rework that underscores their versatility in the studio.

On the latter stages of the release we’re treated to two more original cuts from Lock Smith, the first of which, ‘Space Bucks’ skilfully blends eerie pad lines and glistening synth sounds to create a hypnotizing and mind-bending record. Smith then rounds things off with ‘New Sequence’, a smooth closing cut which as the name would suggest is fuelled by wandering arpeggio sequences, spacey atmospherics and penetrating low-end tones to close the release in style.

Lock Smith’s ‘Settle Down Na’ is out on Thoughtless Music 4th August 2014.

1. Settle Down Na
2. Settle Down Na (Dave Aju Remix)
3. Settle Down Na (Auk Remix)
4. Space Bucks
5. New Sequence