Cocoon Compilation N [Cocoon Recordings]

Cocoon Compilation N [Cocoon Recordings]

Cocoon Compilation N [Cocoon Recordings]

by July 30, 2014

As always the ever-welcome presence of more daylight and plenty of sunshine comes hand in hand with a brand new compilation from the Frankurt powerhouse that is Cocoon. As one of the longest running techno mix series the ever-burgeoning Cocoon compilation family boasts the likes of Sven Vath, Extrawelt, Ricardo Villalobos, DJ Koze, Steve Bug, Henrik Schwarz and Michael Mayer to name a few. For 2014 the annual compilation series moves up to letter N and as ever the 12 track selection features some fresh talent alongside some of the bigger household players.

The compilation kicks off with Stuttgart-based Konstantin Sibold who teams up with Leif Müller to deliver ‘Kolibri’, a melodic slow burner of a tune that mirrors elements of the big room electronica days of Alter Ego. For the second offering Julian Perez explores the deep, somewhat dubbier sides of techno that blends entrancingly into ‘Geischa’ by Markus Fix with its beautifully hypnotic strings and robust drum rhythms.

After the smooth low-slung intro the compilation’s fourth provision from Aril Brikha & Vince Watson ramps up the pace with a kick-heavy arpeggiated tune cultivated for the dance floor. Cocoon affiliate Alan Fitzpatrick seamlessly maintains the big-room vibe with ‘For Fear Is Tonight’ while Cavaan produces a no-nonsense cut with rumbling percussion and hypnotic beats in ‘Wildness’.

US native Truncate takes the reigns as the mix enters its second phase, laying down a deep, bubbling percussive groove for ‘Workout’ while track number eight shifts the gears once more to the heavy hitting techno rhythms of ‘Labyrinth’ from Drumcode affiliate Sam Paganini. The deep, dark and abstract beats of ‘Luminous’ follow in style, cultivated by one of Europes most exciting young producers Luca Mortellaro aka Lucy.

As Cocoon’s dynamic and robust mix edges to a close the tenth track from Villanova – ‘Les Gobelins’ re-ignites the senses as it sublimely deviates into broken beats and whirring modulations laced around a captivating male vox. The final two cuts on the mix come from Swiss powerhouse Ripperton and Ricardo Tobar, both tracks successfully blur the lines lines between house and techno, infused with dusty percussion and subtle groove-laden melodies.

Year in year out Cocoon deliver and ‘Compilation N’ is no exception – a masterful mix of deep groove- laden techno.

Release Date: 8th September 2014.